Railroad Commissioners are elected statewide to six-year, staggered terms. The Chairman is chosen by the Commissioners. One Commissioner position is on the ballot every two years. In the case of a vacancy, the Governor appoints a replacement.  Irrespective of the length of the unexpired term of the appointee’s predecessor, the appointee may only hold office until the next general election. At that time, an election will be held to fill the remainder of the unexpired term. 

Last Updated: 9/22/2020 10:39:37 AM